Healthy Homemade Granola

I felt like mixing it up a bit on the breakfast front. I’ve been relentlessly drinking smoothies and poaching eggs and felt like something totally different. I had the parents up to stay with me in London last weekend so finding a new breakfast alternative seemed like a good plan.

And so Healthy Homemade Granola was born.

IMG_2514

It’s a deliciously chewy and crunchy mix, packed full of fruits, nuts and seeds – and it’s seriously simple to make!

I didn’t measure out my ingredients, I added what I wanted and did it more by eye. I did use a tea mug to measure out my oats though…

To make a big batch you will need:

1 or 2 cups / mugs of rolled organic oats

2 handfuls of nuts of your choice, chopped. I used walnuts, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts and brazil nuts

1 or 2 handfuls of dried fruit, diced. (watch out with dried fruits – a lot of them have sugar added to them in the drying process, which is insane! Buy whole-food or organic fruit to avoid this & always check the ingredients on the back).

A handful of seeds – I used sunflower & pumpkin seeds.

A good squeeze of honey

2 tablespoons of melted coconut oil

A teaspoon of vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

IMG_2513

Preheat your oven to about 180ºC

Grab a large mixing bowl pop in all your ingredients and mix…. and that’s literally it.

Spoon your mixture out onto a baking tray lined with baking paper, and spread relatively thinly. Pop this in the oven for about 10-15 minutes, or until your oats are nice and golden.

Er voila! It really is that easy. Let your granola cool down, it can then be stored in tupperware / jars / ziplock bags for travel ease etc.  IMG_2576

IMG_2577

I love mine with 0% fat greek yog, topped with banana & blueberries & a frothy coffee.

You can experiment with anything though!

IMG_2516

IMG_2517

IMG_2518

Leave a Reply

